Oh Shane, I cannot find the words.

 

 

It was friday morning, I was in school, training. Sitting in the Helsinki Subway in a fireman's outfit when my mate Sakke called me and told the news.  Shane McConkey had died in a skibasejump accident in Italy. I didn't want to understand. That couldn't possibly be true, Superman just don't die, right?

But he did. The sudden feeling of emptiness was surprising, felt like he was family, a friend of mine.

It was Shane and Seth with their Matchstick Production movies who got me into skiing and I feel like I own him at least a farewell, one sort of an awkward, personal tribute.

So many nights watching his movie segments, over and over again, laughing out loud or just admiring, amazed. Many bottles were drunk, many high fives were clapped.

He pushed the boundaries of "impossible. He was the mad scientist, he was the human flying squirrel. He showed that a man can fly and he gave rocker skis to the skiing world. He shoved the world what IS possible.

So, here I am, emptying a can of Finnish beer, listening to old melancholic songs and remembering the legend. Saucer Boy, you will never be forgotten.

This one's for you, Shane, thank you for everything. Cheers.